Turkmenistan is on the list of countries that may be allowed to enter the EU from July 1st

Turkmenistan is on the list of countries that may be allowed to enter the EU from July 1st

Euronews has published a list of countries for whose citizens the EU plans to open borders from July 1. Turkmenistan is also included in this list.

At a closed meeting in Brussels, the day before, the question was decided which citizens of which countries will be allowed to enter the European Union from July 1 after the opening of international borders. According to Euronews, there are two lists: one will include countries from which entry will be allowed, the second – from which entry will be banned. But so far only a preliminary first list has been compiled, the publication notes.

Euronews received from the EU diplomatic sources a preliminary list of countries for which the borders of Europe will be open. In addition to the United States, Brazil, Qatar and Russia were not included. So far, this preliminary list contains 54 countries, including the Vatican, Montenegro, Serbia, Ukraine, Turkey, Kosovo, North Korea, Turkmenistan, China, Thailand, Japan, South Korea, Georgia, Uzbekistan, India, Tajikistan, Kazakhstan, Canada, and a number of countries Latin America and Africa.

Sources say the United States, the country most affected by COVID-19 in the world with more than 2.4 million cases, is on the second list. However, European officials on Thursday were unable to make a final decision on which citizens would not be allowed to enter after the opening of external borders, negotiations will continue on Friday.

At the same time, the sources of the publication questioned the date of the opening of the border on July 1, assuming that the agreements would not be received on time. In addition, there is disagreement among countries regarding the criteria used to make this decision, with some arguing that the data on COVID-19 is not reliable. They ask the EU Disease Prevention to provide more detailed information, adding that the lists will be reviewed every two weeks.