Latest news

Eurovision 2021 will be held in Rotterdam

18.05.2020 | 11:19 |
 Eurovision 2021 will be held in Rotterdam

The European Broadcasting Union (EMU) has confirmed that the Eurovision Song Contest will be held in Rotterdam, the Netherlands in 2021. This was announced at a special show “Eurovision: Europe Shine a Light”, reports TASS.

Broadcasters demonstrated a video with the logo of the Eurovision Song Contest. Rotterdam - 2021. “The contest website reports that the show will take place in the Ahoy concert hall. Semifinal and final dates will be announced later. It is known that 18 out of 41 musicians and bands announced to participate in Eurovision 2020 will also represent their countries in 2021.

As previously reported, Eurovision was supposed to be held this year in Rotterdam from May 12 to 16 under the slogan “Open Up”, but the song contest was canceled due to the coronavirus pandemic. Instead of the final of the show, on May 16th, broadcasters aired a special show with the participation of contestants from different years. The Eurovision Song Contest is a pop song contest among the member countries of the European Broadcasting Union. The owner of all intellectual property produced as part of the competition is also the European Broadcasting Union.

In all, 64 Eurovision Song Contests have been held throughout history, and 67 songs have become winners. The winner of the contest is the song with the highest number of points given by other Eurovision countries. Currently, there is a mixed voting system: 50% from the jury, 50% from viewers. You can’t vote for the representative of your country, the only exception is the first competition in 1956, when the representative of Switzerland Liz Assia with the song “Refrain” became the winner – back then the jury of her country could also vote for her.

Representatives of states that were formed on the site of the former USSR have been participating in Eurovision contests since 1994. They won in 2001 (Estonian Tanel Padar, Dave Benton and 2XL), in 2002 (Latvian Marie N), in 2004 (Ukrainian Ruslana), in 2008 (Russian Dima Bilan), in 2011 (Azerbaijani Ell & Nikki) and in 2016 (Ukrainian Jamala).


Read also: