CAREC countries discuss transport partnership in Ashgabat

CAREC countries discuss transport partnership in Ashgabat

Ashgabat is hosting the Ninth CAREC Federation of Carrier and Forwarder Associations (CFCFA) Annual Meeting.

The Central Asia Regional Economic Cooperation (CAREC) Program is a partnership of 11 countries – Turkmenistan, Afghanistan, Azerbaijan, China, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Mongolia, Pakistan, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan.

CFCFA members and development partners meet to discuss issues of increasing the volume of trade, passenger and cargo transportation between CAREC countries, as well as to present transport development projects in the region.

In particular, the participants of the meeting intend to discuss Sher Han Bandar – Nizhniy Pyandzh (Afghanistan) – Kulyab – Khorog – Kulma (Tajikistan) – Karasu (China) and Andijan (Uzbekistan) – Osh (Kyrgyzstan) – Kashgar (China) transport corridors and other issues.

It was noted that the implementation of a number of regional and continental transport projects in Turkmenistan has significantly increased the transport and transit potential of the country in recent years.

During the meeting, it was stressed that the construction of an international airport in Ashgabat, the construction of new and modernization of existing airports in regional centers, the launch of a new international port of Turkmenbashy and of a Phase I of Turkmenistan-Afghanistan-Tajikistan railroad, as well as construction of new autobahns renewed importance of Turkmenistan as an important part of regional and continental transport-and-transit flows.